Skip to content

Calibrize!

June 18, 2008

I noticed that my white balance and colors have been aaaaaaaaaall over the place. This is the result of working on an uncalibrated Dell laptop which seems to have an excessive blue cast. I thought I could sort of guess around it and get relatively close to the colors I wanted but nope, many of the pictures I have worked on appear horrendous on other monitors. Oh well.

So at some point I need to get a Spyder or one of those things to calibrate my monitor, but for the time being, I found a simple solution: Calibrize. These folks used to sell calibration software however have recently switched their license to freeware, supported by ads (which are really nonintrusive in my opinion).

Since using Calibrize, I’ve gotten much better results in terms of consistency. Now I need to remember to include a grey card or equivalent for each session!

Calibrize can be downloaded at their website. They have a nice simple explanation of color management as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

